Tagged (well, sort of!)

One of my new blog reads, Inn of the Wayward Misfits, recently published a meme where you have to answer 10 question asked by the blog owner and then ask 10 questions for others to answer. Oooh. I’m intrigued! Here’s the post with Alesse’s 10 questions.

1. Do you blog and why?
…well, obviously, yes! Haha. Well, I blog because I really like to ramble, and having my own blog suits me well. If people like to read my ramblings, I’m happy and excited, but even if nobody was reading, I’d still blog. I like to get my thoughts out of my head!

2. How did you come up with your blog name?
Well, even though my real name is Maria, I’ve always gone by Lily/Lilanie online. And since it’s about dolls…well, it wasn’t that hard. It could have been a more poetic and beautiful name like many other blogs, but instead I opted for very straightforward and very me.

3. Do you design your own layouts or do you prefer premades/defaults? Why?
Well, WordPress doesn’t really let you do your own layouts, unless you’d like to pay. Since my blog is currently for free, because I spend all my (fiancé’s) money on dolls, I use a premade layout. I dream of getting my own layout one day…and my own .com-adress.

4. Do you advertise your blog at many places?
Both yes and no. When I comment on other blogs, I comment with my WordPress-profile. On various doll forums, I either link to my blog on my profile or in my signature (or both). Plus I have traded links with a bunch of blogs!

5. Are you the type of blogger who likes to have different blogs for different subjects?
Yes. I prefer that other people keep their things separate too, so it’s only natural to do the same with my own blog. If I like to read about Amy’s dolls, I don’t necessarily need to read about how Amy really likes to recreate Mona Lisa with various pasta dishes…although that would be pretty cool to read about, actually! That being said, I only have this blog at the moment. I had a nail polish blog for a very short period of time, but I didn’t feel the passion to write like I do with this blog.

6. What is more important to you; blog popularity (lots of hits/high blog view stats/number of followers), or readers who interact with you?
I love chatting with my readers, so that’s obviously the more important thing to me. I’d rather have a small number of followers who love to comment, than a huuuge crowd of followers who are completely silent. (And I actually seem to have that small, but active, number of followers, so I count myself very lucky!)

7. Do you ever feel disheartened by your blog and why?
No, actually I don’t. I write mainly to get my thoughts out of my head, and people reading is just a huge bonus. The only thing that sometimes saddens me is when I sometime neglect my blog for a week or maybe more. I miss writing, but I can’t find the inspiration or the time. But luckily my readers are patient people!

8. Have you ever deleted a blog? Why/Why not?
Yes. My nail polish blog was deleted, because I didn’t want to write. That kept me from starting this blog for quite a while – I feared I’d end up not posting here either! But so far I’ve been posting pretty consistently, which makes me very proud. I’m bad at sticking to things…

9. Do you reply to comments made on your blog? Why/Why not?
Yes, always! When my readers take the time to comment on my ramblings, the least I can do is reply! Other than that it helps me get new friends in the hobby, which is a huge bonus. Sometimes I also find new blogs, when their owner comments on my blog – this was the case with Inn of the Wayward Misfits!

10. How much time a week on average do you spend either blogging or reading blogs?
Oh…not enough! I spend maybe an hour on each post, and I try to post 3 times a week. Reading blogs? 30 minutes to 1 hour each day. It changes with the amount of new posts from the blogs I follow. I follow a lot of nail polish blogs and a few makeup blogs, but I often just look at the pictures in those, unless something catches my interest. When it comes to doll posts though, I carefully read each post and try to comment, if I have anything clever to add!
(I use Feedly to follow blogs, if anybody was wondering.)

Now to add my 10 questions…you can all consider yourselves tagged!

  1. Why do you enjoy blogging?
  2. Why did you choose to blog about your chosen subject?
  3. Do you consider blogging a hobby in itself, or is it just a part of the hobby you’re blogging about?
  4. Would you like to buy your own domain?
  5. Do you spend a lot of time commenting on other people’s blogs? Why/why not?
  6. Do you mainly read blogs about the same topic as you blog about, or something entirely else?
  7. Do you have a lot of blogs or just the one?
  8. What is more important to you; blog popularity (lots of hits/high blog view stats/number of followers), or readers who interact with you?
    (Sorry for stealing this, Alesse, but I love the question!)
  9. Do you post a lot of picture posts, or do you always let the text be the main attraction?
  10. Would you like to have a co-blogger for your blog?
4 thoughts on “Tagged (well, sort of!)

  1. Thanks for doing the questions! It was an interesting read. I see we share the whole being bad at sticking with things. I won’t say exactly how many blogs I’ve deleted. My current one is my only one right now and I’ve stuck with it longer than any other so that’s a bonus!

    You could have used all the questions if you wanted to! I will answer your questions here in this comment. And can I just say, Heather has created a Round Robin effect with these questions as I originally got mine from her. So great to see!

    1. Cause I’m long winded and I don’t get told to make it short when I do it on my own blog!
    2. I have several hobbies on the go at any given time but right now, BJDs take up about 75% of my hobby time and I just like to talk about dolls cause no one else in my house wants to listen to me natter on about dolls.
    3. I think blogging is just a part of a hobby. It can also be a hobby by itself. Neat question!
    4. No but that’s only because I’m a cheap skate. That and I am tempermental when it comes to online maintenance.
    5. I have select blogs I read regularly and I tend to comment on those. Others I tend to lurk on for the most part. My regular reading is a very small list so I don’t find it’s that time consuming.
    6. I read blogs about whatever interests me, dolls, books, food, craft, figure collecting, photography, gaming (specifically The Sims 3) etc.
    7. Just the one right now. I have tried having more than one but it sometimes makes me feel a wee bit overwhelmed.
    8. Definitely readers for me. I like meeting new people and discovering new blogs.
    9. I say I do a bit of both.
    10. Oh boy, been down that road before and I would say I prefer running a blog of my own.

    • This is only my second blog, but the being bad at sticking with things tends to show its ugly head in many aspects of my life. That was why I was hesitant about BJDs – I feared I wouldn’t want to stick with them.

      Thanks for answering! n_n I love reading people’s answers to these things!

  2. Woohoo! I love seeing this meme spread, reading the answers is so much fun!

    I’m amused to see we agree on keeping blogs about different topics separate.
    It’s one of my pet peeves when folks hijack one type of blog and start posting other stuff (unrelated to the blog topic) on it.

    I’m answering em here, since I posted questions once already on my blog XD

    1. Why do you enjoy blogging?

    I love being able to share thoughts and ideas, and then get feedback on those thoughts and ideas. I love the interaction, and I love when there are interactive community things like this meme that allow me to learn more about the bloggers whose stuff I love to read!
    I also love having a place to post all my silly ideas, my thoughts, my opinions… etc, etc, etc. It’s just as much for myself as it is for anyone who reads it… more-so for myself, even, since I never expect, and am always absolutely amazed when people comment regularly and are avid readers of my blog.

    2. Why did you choose to blog about your chosen subject?

    I actually blog about several subjects on several blogs… so… maybe I’m not one who can easily choose? Haha!
    Dolls:I chose to blog about dolls because, honestly, I like the doll blog community much better than I like the doll forum community. On blogs, everyone can just do their own thing, and you can read it and comment, or choose to ignore it… and since most bloggers have the ability to moderate the responses on their blogs, they can cut out the drama, which cuts out the drama for me too… which I really love. One thing I *hate* about dolly collecting is the insane drama that can happen.
    Books: I blog about books I’ve read mostly to just keep track of what I’ve read, and what the book was about, and what I thought about it at the time I read it. My book blog is really for no one else but me… so when other people find my reviews helpful, I’m always thrilled.
    Crafts: Again, just blogging for me, and using it to keep up with things I do (although as of late I’ve really been sucking at this!!!)

    3. Do you consider blogging a hobby in itself, or is it just a part of the hobby you’re blogging about?

    No, although maybe I should? LOL! Nah, I consider it a vehicle for sharing and keeping track of my other hobbies.

    4. Would you like to buy your own domain?

    I actually had one once, and never did a danged thing with it… so I cancelled it. Why pay for something I’m never using when I *AM* using blogger all the time for free? I understand the importance of having your own site… and maybe I’ll try again someday, but right now I just don’t have the time.

    5. Do you spend a lot of time commenting on other people’s blogs? Why/why not?

    Yes… because I appreciate their posts. I have to admit, I don’t always leave the most thoughtful comments, sometimes if it’s just pretty dolly pics or something I will just post, “Ooooh, beautiful!”… because that was literally my thought when I saw it. I know some people get annoyed at folks who don’t post a really well thought out, meaningful reply… but I comment anyways because, me… personally? I love it when people let me know they’re reading.

    One thing I *DO* suck at is replying to people’s comments if they reply to my reply. If I subscribed to the responses to every post I ever commented on, I’d go crazy… CRAZY!!! Often times, if people ask me a question on my blog in a reply to one of my posts, I’ll try to go to their blog and answer that question on one of their posts, that way they’ll be sure to see it… and I love when people do that for me as well.

    6. Do you mainly read blogs about the same topic as you blog about, or something entirely else?

    Both? 🙂
    My blog RSS feed categories are something like this:
    Barbie (all fashion dolls that are Barbie-esque go here)
    Blythe
    Books
    Cute Stuff
    Design
    Dollhouse
    Dollfie Dream (all BJD go under this category too)
    Figma & Neemos
    Food Photography
    Illustration
    Japan
    Lifestyle
    Teddy Bears
    Toy Blogs
    Web Comics

    So yeah, I read a few blogs on my varying interests XD

    7. Do you have a lot of blogs or just the one?

    Several… I have one for Barbie and fashion dolls:
    http://travelingtwig.blogspot.com
    One for Pure Neemos and other toys and Japanese dolls and such:
    http://majokkoshop.blogspot.com
    One for crafts:
    http://littlebearries.blogspot.com
    and one for books:
    http://littlesqueed.blogspot.com

    I’ve a bunch of other names saved as well… but I don’t use them… YET, MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    8. What is more important to you; blog popularity (lots of hits/high blog view stats/number of followers), or readers who interact with you?

    Interactive readers. For sure. Popularity is meaningless if no one ever reads what you write.

    9. Do you post a lot of picture posts, or do you always let the text be the main attraction?

    ALWAYS pictures. I rarely ever post just a text post.
    This is based 100% on my own preferences.
    Often times when I see an all text post on a blog, unless it grabs my attention in the first sentence or two, I just skip it.
    You have to be truly engaging to get me to follow your all text blog… or you have to be a book blogger… but if you’re dealing with a topic that’s often best represented visually (such as dolls), you are going to have to be one heck of a writer to get me to follow your non-photo posts! XD

    10. Would you like to have a co-blogger for your blog?

    Nope! Not for any of my current ones, anyways. Now, if I were to start a blog specifically to do with another person, that might be cool. One of the lifestyle blogs I follow is called 8tokyo and it’s by a group of Japanese girls who take turns posting… so it works out great since they all go to different places and do/buy different things. It keeps the blog updating regularly without costing any one of them a fortune! XD

    • Thanks for answering! I know you may not see this, but it would feel so weird answering on one of your own blog posts!
      I really enjoyed especially the point about drama in the dolly community – I’m not personally seeing much of the drama (I tend to stay away from it), but having your own blog really cuts down on it! I’ve never gotten any drama-creating replies yet, but I also haven’t gone into any of the “dangerous” topics yet…like recasts. And I don’t think I will, because I don’t appreciate all the drama.

      And I also love comments, even if they’re short and not super-philosophical. 😀 (I get happy even when I see spam comments…)

What do you think?

