#13: Bonding

How do you bond with your dolls? Do you bond at all or do you just marvel at their beauty?

Well, it’s a bit of both, I think. I didn’t bond at all with my MiniFee Chloe, Molly; as in I didn’t want to take pictures of her. For me it’s a lot about wanting to take photos of my girls, as that and blogging are my favorite things in this hobby (other than making awesome friends and spending an afternoon at Starbucks with them!).

So while I may not bond as I’ve heard other collectors describe it, I still feel like I bond with my girls. I usually just know when it’s wrong, like Molly. Others I am more unsure of, like Cassie. I want to reshell her in a LittleFee body, though. (Hopefully a tan one.) She’s very beautiful, but she can’t do the things I want her to. And I know when it’s just right, like with Nova. I want to drag her to places with me, so yes…that’s bonding in my world. I’m trying to bond with my LittleFees in the same way, but I think Lati Yellows will always be my favorite size!

6 thoughts on “#13: Bonding

  1. I love spending an afternoon at Starbucks with wonderful people from the hobby, too 😀
    I love the friends I make through this hobby. It’s so nice to be able to share the habby with amazing people 😀

    Bonding with my dolls is important to me, but I think in many ways it reflect your views also – as in if I don’t want to take pictures of a doll it is because I’m not bonding with it.

    • And not just the hobby, but also life in general. 🙂 I always hope to make friends that will be about other things than just dolls (but also dolls!). 🙂

      Well, all your girls are so photogenic, you must bond with every single one! *pirate drooling*
      But yeah, when you don’t want to pull out a doll to photograph it, maybe it’s time to go – that’s how it is for me.

  2. I can relate to how you feel about bonding in a way.
    I also don’t “bond” the way some people do. Even though I love my dolls, to me, they’re only just a shell for the characters. Should they break, my character is unharmed. 😛
    Taking pictures, though, is really not that important to me. I mean I like doing it once in a while to share my dolls with my friends, but I’m much more into talking about dolls and characters.

    • I love how all your dolls represent characters, and some day I want to read all their stories! I think your way is in some ways better than mine, because mine really just boils down to “look, pretty!”, where yours has more imagination. 🙂 But I can’t help it. ‘Cause look how pretty!

  3. I have to admit, I’ve never really understood about the bonding. It’s the first time I’ve seen it in a hobby before so I was really confused by it all until it was explained to me.

    I don’t think I really bond with my dolls as such. I tend to be more concerned with the character they are supposed to be and if they don’t work for that character, I tend to sell them off or change their character completely. So I guess I always tend to find ways to make a doll work for me in one way or another.

    • I didn’t get it either, but I have actually mainly experienced it with plushies! I attach like a little girl to each of my plushies, it’s actually sort of silly, haha. 🙂 With the dolls…well, I just like to photograph them. 🙂

      In my mind the dolls often help shape the character, so I never really need to sell a doll for that reason – luckily! 🙂

What do you think?

