Friends are the world

We all talk about the community in the doll collecting hobby – some think it’s awful and elitist, others finally feel like they found the place they belong, and others again feel like they can’t get to be a part of it. Of course a few just don’t care and want to play with pretty dolls, but that’s another story entirely!

For me, I found a space where I finally fit. It took a little while with me floundering around like a bird in a wind tunnel or something like that, but then I stumbled upon a weird little group of Danish people on Skype. A few of those people decided to make an even more tight-knit little Skype group, where most of us log on every day to talk. I’ve already gushed about these people here, so I’ll let that speak for itself.

But one specific of these people has for some unknown reason decided to accept me as a close friend (which she will regret so much come NaNoWriMo, when I will be kicking her ass to reach 50k words!). She is probably one of the kindest souls I’ve ever been fortunate enough to know, and most of you who follow my blog might already be strongly suspecting that I’m of course referring to Lise, blogger over at Red Riding Hood and owner of too many lovely dolls to count (Charlotte, Gerda, Estelle, Scarlet and Connor, just to name a few lovelies).

When we had a little doll meet with Maria (blogger over at Tjassi and owner of Isi, a doll I regularly consider stealing, because CUTE), Lise had a lovely birthday present for me: A wig for my Phia. Phia is a character so close to my heart these days, symbolizing happiness and hope, things I often tend to forget. Sadly, I do not in any ways have the funds to get her – I didn’t even have the funds to get a wig, when The Wig popped up on Etsy. So Lise decided to snatch it up and gift it to me, because she knows how much I love Phia and what she symbolizes.

And look at it, isn’t it beautiful?

IMG_9975 (3)

It’s a little hard to get the true colors to show up, since the light wasn’t exactly the best today, but oh well! Couldn’t wait any longer to show you! It’s a far softer, paler pink in real life, and it’s so gorgeous.

It is from PinkPantherrr on Etsy, but if you want to know about their service, you will have to ask Lise!
It is seriously soft and beautiful though. I can sit and just run my hand over it, I absolutely adore mohair wigs! And my girl will look wonderful when I get her some day. Sadly, the description says the wig is a little big for a PukiFee head (since it was made for a Lati Yellow head), but you can all be certain I will find some way to fix that, haha! (Tips on how to do so are appreciated, though!)

I still can’t believe Lise bought it for me, and I am so grateful to her. It is just one more thing that makes me determined to get better and get on with my life, because I have to earn the funds to bring lovely Phia home one day to wear her wig! And those days when I forget my way even with my reminders, I know I can always come to Lise, and she’ll help me pick up my spirits and remind me that we’re both going great places.

Have you made some wonderful, life-changing friends through the hobby?

2 thoughts on “Friends are the world

What do you think?

