NaNoWriMo

Some of you might already have heard of NaNoWriMo, some you might even be participating this year or have done so before. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s a writing “contest” that you win by quite simply writing a novel of 50,000 words or more during November. I’ve participated once before, didn’t even come close to winning. But this year some friends of mine are participating, and I felt like giving it another shot.
I’m a bit worried that my head will dislike me quite a bit for attempting it, but if I have to quit, I’ll just be head cheerleader for those still going strong – especially my friends. As of now the clock has actually passed midnight and it’s officially November 1st, so I should probably be writing, but I think I’ll wait until I’m done cleaning tomorrow to start it up – I’d like to feel a bit more awake and ready for the start at least! I’m feeling pretty good about it so far; excited and ready to go. I even have a fancy title! At least it’ll give me something to do that’ll keep my brain from slowly turning into a swamp where nothing grows except for mold. On the other hand, give it a week tops and I’ll likely be begging for someone to chop off my fingers so I don’t have to write another word!

To actually win you’ll need an idea, some way to get your words down (computer, paper, your best friend’s arm), and the will to do at least 1,667 words a day. Deceptively simple. Because huff-puff, that’s a lot of words. In comparison, this blog post is XXX words in total. And you’ll also need to sit on your inner editor that constantly wants you to go back over your writing and EDIT IT, because it really sucked. And actually you could change this scene a bit and it’d be much better…well, if you want to churn out that many words in one single month, quantity is far better than quality. December is for editing (and getting an actual paper version of your book, courtesy of some of NaNoWriMo’s awesome sponsors!).

If you get super-bored, you’re also welcome to actually watch my word count go up every day (hopefully) and stare at the blank space that is supposed to be info about me: My NaNoWriMo profile.

So, what does this have to do with dolls, I hear you ask with a deep sigh. Well, I’ll tell you! The story I’ll hopefully be writing is going to be about a character that I will absolutely shell as a doll. It will also very likely be including all of my other dolls (and future dolls!) or at least most of them. For me dolls are not only so gorgeous and wonderful photography subjects, they are also all shells for characters – my Lati dolls being less complex characters, as they are all children; my LittleFee characters all being slightly more complex and quite weird. There are of course exceptions such as Phia, who will be a PukiFee, but still quite a complex character, but in broad, sweeping terms, my Latis are sweet little children. Well. Children at least. Spoiled, demanding children… Aaanyway!

Will you guys be participating in NaNoWriMo?

What do you think?

