Sappy Christmas song

Happy Holidays, reader. I don’t know about you (obviously) but I celebrate Christmas – preferably in a variant with less Christ and more gifts, candy, and Santa Claus, since I’m not really a Christian to say the least. I do however strongly enjoy Christmas trees, Christmas cookies, candles with numbers (advent and calendar), and lots of red elves. What I don’t enjoy as much is the pressure that always comes with December. Combined with my constant head aches, the stress of buying (the right) presents, decorating the house, and visiting family, I never have much energy left for my dolls, which saddens me every year – and always catches me by surprise. In addition, whenever I have a period with daily pain, my interest in my dollies drop like the temperature outside. I usually complain about this to poor Lise, who is also trying to keep their interest in dolls going.

Another thing I like to complain to them about is the fact that I can’t trade and/or sell my doll and spare faceplate! They keep an eye out for me, and I’m keeping an eye out for me, but no luck so far. (If you have a spare PukiFee Vanilla in tan or normal skin just laying around, collecting dust, tell me?) So I learned something new about myself last night. I apparently like to go a little dramatic and quite frankly idiotic, when nothing goes my way.  (The list of crap falling down this year is so long, but let’s focus on the doll thing.) So I wrote a song! Disclaimer: Avert your eyes if bad lyrics tend to make your ears, eyes or other parts of you bleed.

Trade with me a pretty dolly
Fa la la la la, la la la la
It would really make me jolly
Fa la la la la, la la la la

PukiFee Vanilla tan skin
Fa la la la la, la la la la
This year really awful has been
Fa la la la la, la la la la

Give a shout and make me happy
Fa la la la la, la la la la
I know this song is pretty sappy
Fa la la la la, la la la la

Also found on Tumblr.

So, dear reader: When the dolly world frustrates you, how do you act out?

6 thoughts on “Sappy Christmas song

  1. I like your Christmas song!

    Christmas would be a whole lot more enjoyable if there wasn’t so much pressure put on it, I definitely agree.

    There must be something in the air because I was struggling with the doll hobby a month or two ago myself. Maybe it’s just a matter of phases, sometimes you’re in the mood, sometimes you’re not and it’s perfectly okay. And when the dolly world frustrates you to no end, then that’s probably the best time to take a step back and have a bit of a break. I tend to concentrate on my other hobbies when that happens to me. Eventually, the love comes back and the circle starts all over again.

    I’ve begun to suspect there’s no rhyme or reason to it but that it is just human nature.

    • Thank you! 😀

      Yes, I remember it being far more fun as a kid, when the only stress was how many gifts you were going to get this year… Now it’s all about having the right ornaments, baking the right cookies, and buying the right presents. 😦

      That is pretty sound advice, I think. 🙂 But yeah, a lot of people seem to be having a bit of a dolly down these days, which is pretty sad.

  2. fantasywoods says:

    I thought the song was awesome! X)
    Maybe the cold weather is making you feel like you do with your dolls? I’m so useless in winter, I don’t feel like doing anything and loose interest in most of the stuff I love, but I always cheer up and go back as normal once the sun starts appearing!
    If it’s not the weather maybe you could try making a list? Like what do you think it’s working for you and what are the things that are less motivating. Or you know, just give it some time 🙂 I’ve been struggling a lot muself lately.
    I hope you get a pukifee Vanilla soon!

    • People are being so nice about that awful bunch of words, thank yooou. 😀
      It might be the winter, yes, I always feel a little sad when winter rolls around, which is silly, since I don’t really mind the cold. Might be the lack of sun. 🙂
      Haha, currently nothing is really working, but I sort of see your point. 😉 Hope you get back into the swing of things soon!
      Thanks! n_n

  3. I used to really enjoy preparing for Christmas, decorating the tree and wrapping the presents when my children were little, but now they have all flown the nest and it’s just me, hubby and the dog. Don’t get me wrong, we still have a great time but it’s quite different to what it was, I don’t do the BIG tree only a little one from IKEA, the presents are wrapped simply no longer adorned by the big ribbon bows, and I DON’T COOK on Christmas Day YAY!!

    It does sound like you could be suffering from the winter blues though, I tend to hibernate through winter most of the time, the dolls get slightly neglected and summer can’t get here quick enough for me. I hate grey skies and long to see blue skies and puffy white clouds, for some unknown reason I seem to come alive with the first flush of spring. 🙂

    I do understand your yearning for a tan Vanilla though, I have one and love her dearly, she is such a little sweetie . . . maybe if you keep singing your little song Santa just may hear you and pop one under your tree! Well I hope so anyway.

    Chin up Lily, tomorrow is a new day!
    Cheers,
    X

    • While I’m childless, I absolutely know what you mean. For me Christmas was far more magical when I was little, and I really miss that thrill. I still like the presents though, haha!

      The weird part is that I sort of don’t mind spring, but I absolutely detest summer. It’s too warm and annoying for me. So I don’t really know when I’m really comfortable during the year. Maybe I should have my own little dome with custom weather each day. 😉 But yes, dolls tend to get neglected, since there is far less picture time during the day…

      Aw, I can now confirm that Santa decided I need makeup instead. But something else joyful happened, so Vanilla WILL be a reality sometime in 2015. 🙂
      So envious to hear you have one already, though. 😉

What do you think?

